Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

In an effort to regain some sense of normalcy, since my wisdom teeth removal surgery. I’ve prepared myself for baking Round two in the kitchen…baking bitchin’ Bleeding heart mini cakes.

Image

I’m swollen as hell, and I’m stumbling around the kitchen. What normally takes 40 minutes, takes me over a hour. I had quite literally aged over the past few days, and was moving like a old woman. Poking a stick at me wouldn’t make me move faster…So in my slow fashion I put on some music and automatically my spirits are lifted. Something lit a fire under my ass, because now I was crazily throwing my ingredients together.

Well, now look at these…..

Image

Beautiful fresh raspberries filled with all the sweet bitter taste, of yum. We are baking with these today! Let’s get on it…

First prepare your ingredients you need :

125g of fresh Raspberries
2 x Eggs
2 x Surgarine tablets (sugar substitute) = 4 Tsp of Sugar
1 Tsp of Honey
1 Tsp of Vanilla Extract
1/3 Cup of Wholemeal Self Raising Flour
1/2 Cup of Low fat Milk
3/4 Cup of Blanched Almonds grated or chopped

Pre-heat the oven to 180°C then grease 12 hole muffin tin. Place washed halved Raspberries approximately 3-4 halves in each hole. Then set aside remaining Raspberries.

Now I know this is a tedious task, but in all my medicated glory I managed to grate whole almonds to a fine consistency in a small bowl, with a grater…obviously. If you would like a bit more of a almond crunch in the mixture feel free to chop the almonds to your preferred consistency.

Image

Then beat the Eggs, Honey and Surgarine in a small bowl with a electric mixer. If you don’t have Sugarine tablets, you can use the liquid or any other sweetener to substitute sugar. But make sure you TASTE as you go, as some of the sweeteners on the market have a nasty after taste or just do not bake well. Scrape excess honey from the sides and ensure tablets are dissolved. Then continue beating until the mixture becomes light and fluffy.

Image

Stir in grated Almonds, Vanilla Extract, Flour and Milk.

Image

Then fold in the remaining Raspberries into the mixture.

Image

Spoon in the Mixture into the muffin holes. And bake for approximately 20 minutes.

Image

Stand for 5 minutes then place on a cooling rack.Image

These bitchin’ Bleeding Heart Mini Cakes are now ready to serve, and are best accompanied with ‘no sugar added’ ice cream or ‘low fat’ cream!

I suppose your wondering, why such a name? It was the Raspberries, they inspired me. The way these Raspberries taste and look once they are cooked with this combination, oozing with flavour and bite. If you love the bitterness of raspberries combined with the texture on a dense lightly sweet wholemeal cake, you’ll love these mini cakes. They are the perfect Raspberry explosion!

I make these cakes in comfort with the knowledge that they are healthy to eat for both children and adults. My darling toddler almost polished off the whole batch. They are low in fat with no added sugar, combined with a sugar substitute for a great taste, these babies are perfect for diabetics, and weight management.

Enjoy, the complete guilt free gorge on these Bleeding Heart mini cakes.

X

And at your convenience make sure you, right click, save as and print the following recipe, so you always have it handy :

Image

