Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

This was my first attempt at actually baking from scratch (in years), you know like a real baker…I had put my toddler to bed and almost ceremoniously put my brand new pink cupcake apron on, slicked my hair into a ponytail and did a little wiggle. Nothing was going to stand in my way, I was ready to rock this shit!

My initial objective was to surprise my husband with Diabetic Blueberry muffins. After about 40 minutes of manipulating a recipe. This was the result :

Blueberry diebetic muffins

Looks amazing, doesn’t it? Delicate and oozing with blueberry goodness?…

Well…I placed one on a little plate and sliced it if half, I offered half to my husband to taste first…his teeth sunk into the muffin. So far so good, I studied his face intently, he seemed pleased with a relatively calm expression. So, I let out a deep breath, my turn, I bit into my half still cautiously observing his face…then slowly his expression turned sour, I soon mimicked him.

These muffins had turned out WAY too sweet, the type of over-sweet that your face and brain feel like they are about to slip into a Stevia coma. Stupidly and sickly sweet,  I had used way too much. Don’t ever follow instructions on a Stevia jar, they are wrong! The recipe I will not divulge, consider it my good deed to the human race.

My first reaction was ‘Fuck this, fuck I hate baking, it’s for nut heads!’ After my huge bitch fest. I pulled my hypothetical socks up, and revised my recipe.

Of course I used all the blueberries in my demented sweet coma muffin mix. So I had to come up with something that actually tasted good. So I got a few suggestions, did some research and called upon the baking gods, this was my second result :

Banana & Walnut Muffins-watermark

Walnut & Banana Muffins, sorry for the boring title but I was too excited to get this recipe uploaded, I didn’t even think to be creative with the title.

These are good, in fact excellent!

Overall these muffins are dense, filling and packed with banana and walnut goodness. Not very sweet but extremely satisfying. Excellent with a tiny scoop of no sugar added ice cream. Healthy and low in fat, I guess the baking gods came through second time around…

I like baking, now!

Try it yourself? Let me know how you go…

Banana & Walnut Muffins complete delicious recipe

Banana & Walnut Muffins Recipe

You can also find it here : Delicious Muffin Recipes

